The 2018 Scirocco Manitoba High School Playwriting Competition

June 11, 2018 | MAP NewsCompetitions

Congratulations to Aurora Wiebe!

Five strong plays by young playwrights were performed to a very enthusiastic audience at the RMTC Warehouse Theatre on June 7 and 8. At the end of each night audiences were invited to vote for their favourite play, and after the Friday show the votes were tallied and the winner of the Cora McKenzie Award for Best Play was announced.

In an extremely close vote, In Through The Window by Aurora Wiebe of Westgate Mennonite Collegiate was announced the winner (far right in photo).

A hearty congratulations to Aurora, and to the other four finalists (from left to right);

Ryleigh Anderson (Pressure Cooker, St. Mary’s Academy)

Mona Zorigoo (Sleepy Town, Kelvin High School)

Anna Gervais (Setting Sail, Portage Collegiate Institute)

Feruz Habteselassi (Letting Go, Westgate Mennonite Collegiate)

All five young women, selected from over 40 entries, should be very proud of their accomplishments!

Congratulations to our five directors - Paul Duncan, Erin Essery, Gary Jarvis, Kelly Rae Jenken, and Bruce Michalski - and a huge thank you to our extraordinary stage manager, Julie Simpson, her ASM Katie Schmidt, our two dramaturgs Megan Andres and Angie St. Mars, all of our talented and dedicated actors (21 in total!), our host for the evening Stefanie Wiens, all our amazing volunteers, and of course our sponsors and supporters, particularly J. Gordon Shillingford Publishing (Scirocco Drama), the Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre, the University of Winnipeg, and Owen and Paula McKenzie.

Looking forward to next year ….

Happy writing,

Brian Drader
Executive Director
The Manitoba Association of Playwrights