The 2019 Scirocco Manitoba High School Playwriting Competition

February 4, 2019 | MAP NewsCompetitions

And the winners are ...

Congratulations to the four playwrights chosen in this year’s Scirocco High School Playwriting Competition!

Of the many fine submissions for this year’s competition, four plays have been selected. With the help of a professional dramaturg and director, the plays will be developed and rehearsed  over the next four months with the Prairie Theatre Exchange (PTE) Youth Acting Conservatory company, and then presented at the PTE New Works Festival on Saturday, June 1st @ Noon.

The four plays are …

Forget Me Not by Katie Dodgson, St. John’s Ravenscourt

Key to the Castle by Nina Hutsulak, St. Mary’s Academy

The Good Germ by Lindsey Taylor, College Lorette Collegiate

happily ever after ever after by Mona Zorigoo, Kelvin High School

Congratulations to the selected playwrights, and to all the high school students who entered the competition. A really fine showing of fresh and exciting young talent!