2017 High School Playwriting Competition Results

June 10, 2017 | MAP NewsCompetitionsFundraisers

Congratulations to Gabe Krawec!

Five strong plays by young playwrights were performed to an enthusiastic audience at the RMTC Warehouse Theatre on June 8 and 9. All five were finalists in the Manitoba Association of Playwrights Scirocco High School Playwriting Competition. At the end of each night audiences were invited to vote for their favourite play, and after the Friday show the votes were tallied and the winners were announced.

Annemiek Mallory and Victor Pinto were runners up with their plays, The Door - an emotional story of one woman's relationship to death at various ages - and A Lovely Surprise - a gripping and sometimes funny thriller about a detective haunted by a tragic loss.

Anna Gervais was a third place finalist for her play Welcome to the Teenage Brain - a tour through the pressures of being young.

Christian Willitts placed second with his play Something - a touching story about a pair of disaffected teenage outsiders who take a risk and find connection.

The winner of the Cora McKenzie Award for best play in the 2017 Manitoba High School Playwriting Competition went to Gabe Krawec for his play Psychiatric Rotation - a clever comedy that includes the audience in an experiment that questions sanity and authority.

Congratulations to all the playwrights, and to all the directors, actors, and others who made this year's competition happen.