2017 High School Playwriting Finalists Chosen

February 21, 2017 | Competitions

Congratulations to the five finalists in the Scirocco Manitoba High School Playwriting Competition.

Of the many submissions for this year's competition, five finalists were chosen.  With the aid of professional dramaturges and directors, these plays will be performed in June at the Tom Hendry Warehouse Theatre, and the audience will choose their favourite.

The five finalists are...

  • Welcome to the Teenage Brain by Anna Gervais, Portage Collegiate Institute.
  • Psychiatry Rotation by Gabe Krawec, Gordon Bell High School.
  • The Door by Annemiek Mallory, St. Mary's Academy.
  • A Lovely Surprise by Victor Pinto, Portage Collegiate Institute.
  • Something by Christian Willitts, St.John's-Ravenscourt School.

This year we have a great mix of established artists and up and comers directing for the competition this year.  Megan McArton will direct "The Door", Paul Duncan "A Lovely Surprise", Chris Sigurdson "Something", Diana Rasing "Psychiatry Rotation", Sarah Jane Martin directing "Welcome to the Teenage Brain" by Anna Gervais.

Congratulations to the finalists.  We're looking forward to seeing the work of these fresh young playwrights.