2016 Rintoul Award

July 24, 2016 | MAP NewsCompetitions

Congratulations to Frances Koncan for zahgidiwin/love

There's never a shortage of original, innovative, thoughtful, insightful, entertaining, and well-crafted theatre created by Manitoba artists at the Winnipeg Fringe.  Each year the Manitoba Association of Playwrights sends judges out looking for the best new play by a Manitoba playwright.  MAP's Harry S. Rintoul Award is named in honour of the late playwright who was passionate about the Fringe Festival as a place where new plays could come to life and find an audience.

Congratulations to Frances Koncan, who was awarded the 2016 Rintoul Award on the final evening of the Fringe for her play zahgidiwin/love, a post-colonial fable about gender politics and cultural genocide. 

The shortlist of nominees for the 2016 Rintoul Award was:

  • Frances Koncan—zahgidiwin/love
  • Neil McArthur—Let Me Freeze Your Head
  • Gislina Patterson—Heavenly Bodies

McArthur's Let Me Freeze Your Head is a one-man sales pitch for cryogenics.  Patterson's Heavenly Bodies is a poetic exploration of sexuality and its abuse.